Apple Sauce

I have been taught not to waste food when I was young, why change that today?- Grandma Glasses

There is something not right on those apples on the fruit platter. She spent her snack days on cherries and melons. She was playing favorites on those fruits.

“I felt guilty for ignoring the red crispy look the last few days,” said Grandma Glasses

“You don’t have to wait for them to get wrinkled and dried out. How about baking an apple pie?” I remember how delicious and heavenly sweet the slice of apple pie Grandma Glasses gave me last Christmas.

“Nope, I don’t feel making pie crust today. That will have to be on another day when I crave for apple pie, not today.” And  as quick as my idea, so did my apple slice dream vanishing in thin air with her  disapproval. 

“But they have to be eaten sooner or let them rot, ” I said, hoping she will change her mind about the pie.

“No no no! I don’t have the heart to put them in the trash bin. I have been taught not to waste food when I was young, why change that today?” she turned to me as if I said something that will bring a curse to the universe.

“I will make apple sauce!” as she  grabbed the apples and went frantically to the kitchen.

“Yes, that’s a good idea. Whether it’s fresh, baked, roasted, crumbled or mushed that’s fine by me. Apples are always good.” I said.

“And applesauce goes well with breakfast crepes, porridge, french toast, ice cream, muffins, cakes and bread too.”

“Perfect! I can’t wait until it’s ready and we can have our tea time.” She gave me a loving look, as I responded with a frenzy, wagging tail.

IMG_9253IMG_9259IMG_9251

 

Ingredients :

4 apples, peeled, cored and sliced

3/4 cups water, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

In a saucepan, combine apples, water, sugar, and cinnamon. Cover, and cook over medium heat for 15 to 20 minutes, or until apples are soft. Allow to cool, then mash with a fork or rubber spatula to your preferred texture and consistency.

 

Leave a Reply

